MP3-Boss forum

Questions, comments and concerns about MP3-Boss: MP3 Database and Manager

You are not logged in.

Announcement

MP3-Boss Facebook Group
v0.683 is the official release. * Beta info * Have you checked the MP3-Boss Facebook Page? My contact address is MP3-Boss primary email address.
Returning users: Send me an email containing your user name, and I'll reset your email address (old info was lost during a crash).

#1 2006-06-29 14:25:14

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

*BPM Detection Support*

*BPM Detection Support*
BPM support uses AutoBPM to automatically determine the Beats per Minute (BPM) for all of your songs.  Normally only DJs need to know the Beats per Minute, although BPM can also categorize your slow from fast songs.  If enabled, Mp3-Boss will read the status from AutoBPM (installed separately), and update the song information once it determines that the BPM information is stable.

Works with AutoBPM (http://www.pyramidedata.dk), tons of features, including:
Stability detection; Specify minimum number of BPM readings before writes information; Automatically calculates stability from final BPM values total set isn't stable; Write Always, Write if blank, Write Never; Shows running information about BPM, with color to show stability; Works with Hotscan!; Includes "Smart HotScan" that scans longer if BPM isn't stable!; Writes
complete data used for calculations to "c:\bpm_info.txt"

As of v0.604, AutoBPM v1.1 will be automatically installed and configured once you enable BPM support (just click the "ShowBPM" and "SmartBPM" checkboxes found on the "More" tab of the Configuration dialog).

I have found that AutoBPM doesn't work on some computers because of Wavemapper configuration problems. If you have this problem, try plugging a sync cable from the line out to line in on your soundcard. If you have a 'favorite' BPM generator, let me know and I'll see if I can add support.

Please note that by default, the BPM button (in Winamp Controls in List View) is OFF -- you need to turn on BPM support in Configuration (MORE tab). To have the BPM be automatically added to your database, you need to turn on AutoFillBPM in Configuration (MORE tab) -- select ALWAYS or BlankOnly.

I had some problems with my Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit soundcard working with AutoBPM -- the problem was corrected by going into Soundblaster diagnostics...and correcting the error that was identified (Restore Defaults also fixed the problem).

Depending on your soundcard setup, AutoBPM may be sensitive to the volume setting you use for both your WAV and Master volume control.  If that is the case, you might need to slide both to the top to get the best BPM results, and then control the volume from your speaker.

When AutoBPM comes up, it defaults to a BPM range of 75...150 BPM.  Normally I just leave that setting alone.  However, if you know you have a bunch of slow (or fast!) songs to process, you might want to change that setting.  If the setting is incorrect, AutoBPM will typically calculate a BPM that is 2x higher or lower than the actual BPM.  Since the normal range is only 50-300BPM, keeping the default usually works well.

v0.604 will turn-on BPM by default, and include some additional auto-setup (auto-load, and automatically downloading and extracting AutoBPM if necessary).

AutoBPM is available separately at http://www.mp3-boss.com/autobpm.zip in case you have an older version of MP3-Boss.

Offline

 

#2 2007-11-13 10:05:16

HaraldF
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 139

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Hello,

You wrote: Please note that by default, the BPM button (in Winamp Controls in List View) is OFF -- you need to turn on BPM support in Configuration (MORE tab). To have the BPM be automatically added to your database, you need to turn on AutoFillBPM in Configuration (MORE tab) -- select ALWAYS or BlankOnly.

I use this settings, but the bpm is not added to database automatically.
Are there some settings else I have to care for?

Harald

Offline

 

#3 2007-11-13 14:57:32

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Harald,

You are right!  Turning on BPM gives you a little button "BPM" near the Winamp controls -- you need to click that button to have the BPM calculated for the song that is playing.  Note that AutoBPM calculates the BPM based the beats in the song that is playing -- so it isn't automatically calculated during scanning.

I really need to add "Always turn BPM ON" so that you don't have to click the button to turn-on BPM calculation.

Anybody know a good BPM calculator that works directly on the file (instead of on the decoded audio)?

Offline

 

#4 2009-03-09 16:44:09

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

The author of AutoBPM has created a Facebook group:
http://da-dk.facebook.com/group.php?gid=43482685826

...maybe this is a good place to ask questions about AutoBPM.

Also, there is a FAQ on AutoBPM:
http://www.pyramidedata.dk/info/index.html#home

Does anyone have AutoBPM working under VISTA?

Offline

 

#5 2009-03-19 23:59:59

HaraldF
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 139

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

I use mp3-boss with vista.
Auto bpm works not every time.

sometimes it opens itself for several times.
the bpm is only sometimes transfered to mp3list.
In mp3list 115 bpm is shown as 1150.

greetings
harald

Offline

 

#6 2009-03-20 05:26:42

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Does it ever work correctly, or does it always give the wrong (10x) result?

Any suggestions on what I need to do to get AutoBPM to work?  It doesn't seem to want to see the audio on my VISTA computer.  On my WinXP computer (and Creative Soundcard), I often had to run diagnostics and 'reset settings' before AutoBPM would work correctly.

Offline

 

#7 2009-03-20 18:22:39

HaraldF
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 139

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

10x result
At 28.01.2008 22:53:03: 125 bpm
bow: 1520 bpm
madonna hung up

Offline

 

#8 2009-03-21 09:19:25

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Does the AutoBPM window say 1250bpm, or only MP3Boss?

Offline

 

#9 2009-03-21 18:00:22

HaraldF
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 139

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Only mp3boss

Offline

 

#10 2009-03-21 18:27:57

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Did you have to do anything special to get AutoBPM to work in VISTA?

I can't get AutoBPM to work ... it never sees the music.

I have seen AutoBPM open several times under VISTA ... it must be that VISTA sometimes prevents the connection between MP3-Boss and AutoBPM.

Offline

 

#11 2009-03-22 03:16:47

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

I was able to get AutoBPM to 'work' under VISTA:
Control Panel/Sounds and Hardware/Manage Devices

In the Recording tab, right-click and select "Enable Disabled Devices"

Select "Stereo Mixer" (Realtek High definition Audio)

...now AutoBPM responds to what is playing.

However, I then started to see the problem of multiple loading AutoBPM (up to 7 instances!), and MP3-Boss would often not recognize AutoBPM.  AutoBPM would sometimes give the error message that it needed a mono 16-bit 44100Hz recording device.  I'll need to work on this...

Offline

 

#12 2009-05-16 06:14:44

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Offline

 

#13 2010-07-22 16:53:48

HaraldF
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 139

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Did you find something out about the bpm counter with the wrong number (137.1 bpm = 1371,0)

Perhaps mp3-boss does not recognize the ".".

greetings
harald

Offline

 

#14 2010-07-22 17:07:38

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

I'm sure this must be because the number format uses a comma as the decimal separator instead of a period.

I'll add it to the list to fix...

Offline

 

#15 2010-07-22 17:31:47

HaraldF
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 139

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

thank you!!

Offline

 

#16 2010-07-23 19:43:47

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Can you send me the file:
c:\bpm_info.txt

...the code tries to determine the decimal separator.  My guess is that for some reason Windows is using a comma as the decimal separator, but AutoBPM is using a period.

Thanks

Offline

 

#17 2010-07-25 04:10:38

HaraldF
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 139

Re: *BPM Detection Support*

Ive sent you the file.

harald

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB