MP3-Boss forum

Questions, comments and concerns about MP3-Boss: MP3 Database and Manager

You are not logged in.

Announcement

MP3-Boss Facebook Group
v0.683 is the official release. * Beta info * Have you checked the MP3-Boss Facebook Page? My contact address is MP3-Boss primary email address.
Returning users: Send me an email containing your user name, and I'll reset your email address (old info was lost during a crash).

#1 2006-12-31 23:12:13

liouba
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 4

unable to locate command for player

Hello,

I installed mp3-Boss in the program files.
but the program says: unable to locate the proper command set for the specified MP3 -Player.

My player is winamp

Anyone could help me?

thank you

Offline

 

#2 2007-01-01 11:15:37

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: unable to locate command for player

What version of MP3-Boss did you install, and what version of Winamp are you running?

First thing to try is to exit MP3-Boss and then just re-start it.  If you just installed Winamp, you probably need to reboot the computer..I've seen a case where Mp3-Boss doesn't recognize Winamp if it has just been installed.

Offline

 

#3 2007-01-02 19:25:25

liouba
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 4

Re: unable to locate command for player

version 0,611 of MP3-Boss
version 5,32 of Winamp

from the beginning it says:the currently loaded MP3 Player was not started from C:\Program Files\Winamp\*.exe.
MP3-Boss wll not be able to manage playlists created by the player. Click the retry button to load the configured MP3 Player.

I retry and then it says:unable to locate the MP3 player: C\Programe Files\Winamp\*.exe   and also:You may want to download and install Winamp2 or Winamp5...

Last edited by liouba (2007-01-02 19:30:30)

Offline

 

#4 2007-01-02 22:38:35

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: unable to locate command for player

If Winamp is already started before you start MP3-Boss -- does MP3-Boss find Winamp then?

When you load Winamp on its own, about how many seconds does it take before it is actually loaded?

Offline

 

#5 2007-01-03 02:31:31

liouba
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 4

Re: unable to locate command for player

When Winamp is already started, the picture of the player appears but immediatly after that MP3-Boss starts blinking and gives the"error-message".
MP3-Boss makes a List View but that's all.
Winamp takes 2 or 3 sec to be loaded.

Offline

 

#6 2007-01-03 03:58:15

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: unable to locate command for player

It sounds like somehow MP3-Boss doesn't think the player location is correct.

Go to the configuration dialog, and browse for the player location (even though it looks correct) and select the winamp.exe file.

Does that fix the problem?

Offline

 

#7 2007-01-04 08:46:42

liouba
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 4

Re: unable to locate command for player

no sad

could the reason be that my C:  has no volume name?

Last edited by liouba (2007-01-04 08:47:57)

Offline

 

#8 2007-01-04 10:01:17

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: unable to locate command for player

Can you send me a screen capture of the error message, and also a screen capture of the directory showing the winamp.exe file.  Send the files to:
john.t.mccaffrey@snet.net

What operating system are you running, and what language (e.g., WinXP Pro SP2 -Italian)?

Anybody else seeing this problem?

Offline

 

#9 2007-02-17 07:39:50

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: unable to locate command for player

I believe this has been fixed as of v0.613 or so (and completely fixed in v0.615) -- if you installed Winamp with individual settings (instead of shared settings), the player information is stored in your local settings directory instead of in the winamp program directory.

Let me know if you still find this to be a problem.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB