MP3-Boss forum

Questions, comments and concerns about MP3-Boss: MP3 Database and Manager

You are not logged in.

Announcement

MP3-Boss Facebook Group
v0.683 is the official release. * Beta info * Have you checked the MP3-Boss Facebook Page? My contact address is MP3-Boss primary email address.
Returning users: Send me an email containing your user name, and I'll reset your email address (old info was lost during a crash).

#1 2008-05-03 14:02:18

tweets
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 5

Problem using Utils

Hi,

I'm a new user, but already hooked... however, I want to get a list of my duplicates, etc and whenever I click on the Utils button (Utils (Tag/Dupes/CRC32)) nothing happens.

I don't even get an error message.

And I was advised to delete my MP3boss.log file, forcing the system to create a new one, which it hasn't actually done yet.

Has anyone got any advice?

System:  Win XP SP2
Version:  0.652 (Fully registered)

Offline

 

#2 2008-05-03 16:53:59

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: Problem using Utils

Does the Utilities dialog come up?

When you click "Find Duplicates..." does the "This procedure will scan for duplicates..." message box come up?  Or nothing?

Offline

 

#3 2008-05-04 04:43:13

tweets
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 5

Re: Problem using Utils

Nothing happens at all.  I am talking about the button on the main menu, it doesn't even get as far as giving me the option to "find duplicates", it just presses the button, then doesn't do anything more.

And it doesn't hang, I can continue on and do other thing, just cannot do anything with the duplicates button.

Offline

 

#4 2008-05-04 08:09:57

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: Problem using Utils

Please ZIP and send me your MPEG.MDE file.

When you say that it doesn't even give you the option for "Find Duplicates" -- you mean that the Utilities form doesn't even come up, right?

http://www.mp3-boss.com/utilities_duplicates.jpg

Offline

 

#5 2008-05-04 10:46:29

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: Problem using Utils

Also, I'd recommend you try the new beta (just out today).  I've added additional error checking to see if I can diagnose the problems you are having:
http://web.newsguy.com/mccaffjt/punbb/v … php?id=450

Offline

 

#6 2008-05-05 01:13:02

tweets
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 5

Re: Problem using Utils

Exactly right, nothing comes up.

I'm going to install the beta today.

Thank you.

Offline

 

#7 2008-05-05 01:13:38

tweets
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 5

Re: Problem using Utils

Actually, I clicked on your link in the above post and get told I don't have permission.

Offline

 

#8 2008-05-05 01:52:00

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: Problem using Utils

Sorry about that -- the link was incorrect.

Here's the correct information to the message:
http://web.newsguy.com/mccaffjt/punbb/v … php?id=450

And direct links to download:
Full install:
web.newsguy.com/mccaffjt/beta/mp3boss.zip
web.newsguy.com/mccaffjt/beta/mp3.exe

Update install:
web.newsguy.com/mccaffjt/beta/mp3update.zip
web.newsguy.com/mccaffjt/beta/mp3update.exe

Please let me know if you find any problems with the beta.  Thanks!

I've done a bit of testing on this...and it seems to fix a number of recent problems, so I plan to make this official quickly.

Offline

 

#9 2008-05-05 02:37:48

tweets
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 5

Re: Problem using Utils

I've performed the update, but sadly this hasn't fixed the original problem on this thread.

Offline

 

#10 2008-05-07 23:42:10

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: Problem using Utils

Is anyone else seeing this problem?

It looks like this might be a problem with DAO350.DLL.

If anyone sees a similar problem, please check your references:
Try (from MP3-Boss switchboard):
Configuration/Statistics (top right)/Check References (bottom middle)

You should get a list like:

OK VBA   3.0.0.7019 C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VBA\VBA332.DLL
OK Access  8.0.0.3512 C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACC8.OLB
OK DAO   3.51.1608.0 C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\DAO\Dao350.dll
OK MoleZip  1.8.0.173 C:\WINDOWS\system32\MoleZip.dll
OK BlowfishDLL  1.0.0.0 C:\WINDOWS\system32\Blofsh10.dll
OK AUDIOGENIELib 2.4.1.0 C:\WINDOWS\system32\audiogenie24.ocx
OK FREEDBControl 1.6.0.2 C:\WINDOWS\system32\uFREEDB.ocx
OK MCDBURNERCONLib 1.0.0.1 C:\WINDOWS\system32\MCDBUR~1.OCX
OK Office  8.0.0.3507 C:\Access97RuntimeSourceFiles\mso97rt.dll

The DAO version should be 3.51.1608.0.  Let me know if you see an earlier version.  I'm not sure why that DAO wasn't updated during installation.

If you see the problem, I can provide the updated DAO350.DLL and instructions on how to manually update the file.

I'm also interested in finding out if anyone out there is using MP3-Boss with the old version of DAO350.DLL (3.51.1027.0) and not seeing any problems.

Thanks!

Offline

 

#11 2008-05-08 11:40:14

yahs
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 63

Re: Problem using Utils

Hi John,
Regarding the above problem i'm using MP3-Boss 652 with the old version of DAO350.DLL (3.51.1027.0) and not seeing any problems.

Clicking on the Green Duplicates Button doesn't do anything but clicking on Find Duplicates sets everything in motion and scanning starts.
Using Windows XP media version with SP2

SK

Offline

 

#12 2008-05-08 17:50:50

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: Problem using Utils

SK,

I hadn't thought of that, and reading the message again, I think you spotted the problem.  You are quite correct that the green duplicates 'button' is just a label -- it is the "Find Duplicates" button that starts the process.  I had never looked at it that way before!

Think I should get rid of the green border around the word Duplicates?  Have I been confusing a lot of people?

Offline

 

#13 2009-05-27 15:11:48

Hornnumb2
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 7

Re: Problem using Utils

I am having the same problem...Here is my info

OK    VBA            3.0.0.6908    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VBA\VBA332.DLL
OK    Access        8.0.0.3512    C:\Program Files\Access 97 Runtime\Msacc8.olb
OK    DAO            3.51.1027.0    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\MICROS~1\DAO\Dao350.dll
OK    MoleZip        1.8.0.173    C:\WINDOWS\system32\MoleZip.dll
OK    BlowfishDLL        1.0.0.0    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Blofsh10.dll
OK    AUDIOGENIELib    2.4.1.0    C:\WINDOWS\system32\AUDIOG~1.OCX
OK    MCDBURNERCONLib    1.0.0.1    C:\WINDOWS\system32\MCDBUR~1.OCX
OK    Office        8.0.0.3507    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VBA\mso97rt.dll
OK    ShellBrowser    6.2.4.0    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ShellBrowserX.ocx
OK    FREEDBControl    1.6.0.2    C:\WINDOWS\system32\uFREEDB.ocx

Offline

 

#14 2009-05-30 00:37:00

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: Problem using Utils

Is there an mp3boss.log file?  Please send it to me and I'll take a look.

Can you give me some more details about the problem -- is it possible that there simply aren't any duplicates?

Offline

 

#15 2009-06-02 07:33:00

Hornnumb2
New member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 7

Re: Problem using Utils

I emailed the log file. Thanks

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB