MP3-Boss forum

Questions, comments and concerns about MP3-Boss: MP3 Database and Manager

You are not logged in.

Announcement

MP3-Boss Facebook Group
v0.683 is the official release. * Beta info * Have you checked the MP3-Boss Facebook Page? My contact address is MP3-Boss primary email address.
Returning users: Send me an email containing your user name, and I'll reset your email address (old info was lost during a crash).

#1 2010-06-20 17:03:54

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

MP3-Boss 64-bit?

I am starting to play with Access2010, 64-bit.

If I can get this to work ... it really brings the MP3-Boss engine up to date ... but maybe too up to date?  How many of you are running under 64-bit Windows?

If you aren't running now, when will you be running a 64-bit computer?

How many of your are running Mp3-Boss on something earlier than WinXP (e.g., Win98)?

THANKS!

Offline

 

#2 2010-06-25 19:36:58

ralph
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 94

Re: MP3-Boss 64-bit?

I'm using Vista-64.

Offline

 

#3 2010-06-27 09:54:55

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: MP3-Boss 64-bit?

After spending a few hours working to try to convert MP3-Boss to 64-bit Office format, I found out the following:
1) It will be a lot of work ... all API calls need to be checked to change pointers from long to the newly created datatype longptr.  Doesn't sound like much ... but there are over 500 API declarations in Mp3-Boss -- lots of work!  Unfortunately, it can't be automated because many longs really are just longs...

2) 64-bit Office applications can't use 32-bit Activex/COMs.  This is a big one, since the developers of the Activex/COMs in MP3-Boss haven't even provided a schedule for conversion (assuming they convert)...

Microsoft is recommending Office 32-bit (even if running under 64-bit OS) because of the above -- so I've gone back to 32-bit Office.  I'm happy to say that Mp3-Boss starts up under that environment (64-bit Win7) without haven't to change anything (although still some work to do!).

Offline

 

#4 2015-02-22 12:09:11

snordyke
New member
Registered: 2015-02-22
Posts: 2

Re: MP3-Boss 64-bit?

(52) Bad File name or number
---
I searched the forum and didn't see this issue.  I get this error after using the duplicate search and while trying to delete a duplicate file.
I am using Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit. 
I have used this feature for years and it worked great - but now...
I have Optimized the Database and Data.

I am using version 0.0683

Thanks in advance

Last edited by snordyke (2015-02-22 12:11:10)

Offline

 

#5 2015-02-28 09:21:29

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1290
Website

Re: MP3-Boss 64-bit?

Is there any information in the mp3boss.log file?  If not, do you see any indication of the filename that is causing the problem?
Most likely there is a directory that ends up being longer than 255 characters that can't be converted to a shortfilename -- either because of an disallowed character or because short filenames are disabled.
If you can locate and rename the directory (or filename), then that should fix the problem.

Offline

 

#6 2015-12-26 11:09:19

snordyke
New member
Registered: 2015-02-22
Posts: 2

Re: MP3-Boss 64-bit?

Sorry for the VERY slow response.  As you suggested it was an unusual filename - a . in the wrong place.  Easily resolved.

Offline

 

#7 2017-04-28 05:01:13

itm1960
New member
Registered: 2017-04-28
Posts: 1

Re: MP3-Boss 64-bit?

I was wondering if this was still alive? I'm a longtime MP3-Boss user who would like to run it on Windows 10 x64 (with Office 2016 installed). Any advice much appreciated! (BTW I notice that emails to the old MP3-Boss support address are being bounced due to a "quota exceeded" error)

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB