MP3-Boss forum

Questions, comments and concerns about MP3-Boss: MP3 Database and Manager

You are not logged in.

Announcement

MP3-Boss Facebook Group
v0.683 is the official release. * Beta info * Have you checked the MP3-Boss Facebook Page? My contact address is MP3-Boss primary email address.
Returning users: Send me an email containing your user name, and I'll reset your email address (old info was lost during a crash).

#1 2006-02-05 14:10:32

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

get file error

i had to re scan my hard drive and in doing so i get hundreds of get file errors
3012 no current record exists
i keep hitting the ignore button but i figure that a lot of files are missing i will rescan after i am done any help in what is causeing the problem would be apreciated
all of the files had been in the database before so i know they scanned good in the past.

i am using the latest beta version

Offline

 

#2 2006-02-05 14:11:23

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

sorry it was 3021 error not 3012

Offline

 

#3 2006-02-05 16:08:18

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: get file error

Can you send me a screen capture with the error, and send me one of the files that shows the problem.

Is there anything unusual about the file names?  I haven't seen the problem here -- and reasonably frequently I get rid of my database to try a brand new scan -- so probably there is something unusual in the files (maybe an unusual ID3v2 tag?).

Offline

 

#4 2006-02-06 19:23:32

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

ok ill be home on friday and try to get a screen shot but i am not sure how to tell which file is causing the problems as the only way it made it threw the scan was to hold the I key down must have been a couple hundred files that gave error. i had previously scanned everything in one of the directories that gave the errors i can understand the errors on the new files but don't understand the errors on the old files that i had already scanned sucessfully before. how do i know which file is causing the error nothing on the screen indicates which file it is. other than moving all files to ne directory and seeing what is left. any sugestions on how to do this.

Offline

 

#5 2006-02-07 03:18:30

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: get file error

Normally, there is an error box that appears on the scan page that will indicate the name of the file that caused the most recent problem (the information actually scrolls down if there is more than one error).

Once I see the screen shot, I can probably tell you what file to get.

Thanks!

Offline

 

#6 2006-02-10 16:08:48

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

i sent you the screen shot let me know what you see

Thanks

Offline

 

#7 2006-02-10 16:35:06

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

well it started giving me 2 other errors something about overflow and something about subset i just gave up and shut it down i'll wait to see what you see

Thanks

Offline

 

#8 2006-02-11 06:19:10

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: get file error

The screen shots show that the problem is during the first-stage file check.

Instead of processing all of the files at once, can you scan just a directory where there will be fewer than 15K files?

Offline

 

#9 2006-02-11 09:49:28

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

ill try i just scanned a directory with 6172 files and got it i thought 15k was 15000 ill try the sub directories one at a time and see what happens and yes it is in the first file scan

these files as i said are in a directory that i had moved files into using the move feature on mp3boss it is set up as drive \directory\artist\album and the files had all been renamed as track title previously
i never thought that it would give me errors

Thanks

Offline

 

#10 2006-02-11 10:23:40

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

ok here what was in one subdiretory with only 10 files ill email them to you

Offline

 

#11 2006-02-11 14:59:47

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: get file error

Thanks -- this is a very strange problem!

Anybody else seeing anything like this???

Offline

 

#12 2006-02-14 02:57:25

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: get file error

I haven't been able to reproduce the problem here -- the 4 files you sent scanned fine (I only received 4 files -- did you send 10?).

What happened to make you have to rescan your hard drive?  A crash?

Did you completely re-create the database, or just scan into the database that was there?

Have you run "Optimize Data" and "Optimize Database" on your mp3-boss data?

Offline

 

#13 2006-02-14 17:19:28

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

i tries to send 10 but i got a message that said mailbox limit so i only sent 4

problem with my c drive had to reinstall several programs not sure what i did but all of the music was on f and g drive both 250 gig drives no problems with those drives

i think i recreated database selected overwrite on scan page it did something but can't remember what it said

no havent tried to optimize database i will do that and see

i have done the folowing to get the files after i get threw the scan i move everything with the auto move takes forever because of the number of files and i find some files scatered around various sub directories can't tell why i will try to send you some of them ill see if i can zip up the files and directories in one file maybe its something to do with the directory?

Offline

 

#14 2006-02-14 18:02:40

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

ok i am sending you 8 files in a zip file hope it works when i scanned the sub directory i got the same errors i kept hitting ignore finally it said 8 files processed but when i went to list veiw only 2 of the files were on it very decieving i had thought they all scanned based on the message

i tried the database optize it didnt seem to help i guess next step would be to delete the mp3boss directory and start over from scatch clean install?

Offline

 

#15 2006-02-14 20:12:15

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: get file error

Did you also try the "Optimize Data"?  That will attempt to fix a corrupted data.mdb file.

Have you run a checkdsk on your drive to make sure that it is OK?

Offline

 

#16 2006-02-17 05:09:54

mccaffjt
Admin
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 1295
Website

Re: get file error

If Optimize doesn't fix the problem, please ZIP up your DATA.MDB and MPEG.MDE files and email them to me.

Thanks!

Offline

 

#17 2006-02-25 09:11:38

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

and where do i find them i searched all of my hard drives and found no files by that name

Offline

 

#18 2006-02-25 09:14:31

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

i am sending you screen shots of the newsrover directory maybe you see the files

Offline

 

#19 2006-02-25 09:21:46

tjc
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 91

Re: get file error

i found them i am sending now looked in wrong place

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB